Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely



Connect with GMIC


Green Meeting Industry Council
2025 M Street, N.W. Suite 800
Washington, D.C.

News & Press: GMIC Global News

GMIC Board Member Lindsay Arell Wins 2014 CIC Pacesetter Award

Thursday, May 8, 2014  
Posted by: GMIC Global
Share |


Media Contact:

Korenna Wilson

Convention Industry Council

(703) 299-3404 


CIC Names 2014 Hall of Leaders Inductees and Pacesetter Award Winners 

ALEXANDRIA, VA - (May 6, 2014) – The Convention Industry Council (CIC) today revealed the names of the 2014 inductees into the CIC Hall of Leaders and the third class of Pacesetter Award recipients. The awardees will be formally recognized at the Hall of Leaders Gala on Sunday, October 12, 2014 at the MGM Grand Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, kicking off IMEX America week. 

“The CIC Hall of Leaders is the highest honor to be bestowed in our industry. This year’s class truly embodies the qualities that are the hallmark of this award. They are the influencers and forward-thinkers who have shaped this industry and inspired many of us to be better leaders,” said the CEO of the Convention Industry Council, Karen Kotowski, CAE, CMP. “We are pleased to be back in Las Vegas for IMEX America week where the industry’s best and brightest will meet face to face.” 

The Hall of Leaders recognition program draws attention to the contributions that the meetings industry has made to the larger society as a whole by highlighting the specific achievements of industry pioneers and emerging leaders who not only changed the landscape of the profession, but changed the culture of business as well. Nominations are submitted either by CIC member organizations or the general industry community and honorees are recognized during the culminating awards ceremony and their stories housed virtually at 

This year’s honorees are: 

John Christison – Principal and Managing Member, BCI+Network, nominated by International Association of Venue Managers
Gary Sain (deceased) – Former President/CEO, Visit Orlando, nominated by International Association of Exhibitions and Events

Patti Shock
– Professor, Academic Consultant, UNLV/International School of Hospitality, Nominated by National Association for Catering and Events

Additionally, the following people were selected to receive Pacesetter awards:

Donnell Bayot 
 Young Professionals Award, in recognition for his innovation, nominated by National Association for Catering and Events

Lindsay Arell 
 Young Professionals Award, with recognition for her work with sustainability and social responsibility, nominated by Green Meeting Industry Council

To date, 111 pioneers have been inducted into the Hall of Leaders. A complete listing of previous HOL award winners, along with pictures and details from the 2013 fete, can be found on the CIC website at

The Pacesetter Award, established in 2012 to honor achievement ‘in real time,’ rather than over a lifetime, has recognized seven emerging leaders whose recent accomplishments are defining how we will work in tomorrow’s industry. 

Information on attending the Hall of Leaders Gala can also be found on the CIC website.


About CIC: 

The Convention Industry Council champions the economic and social value of a strong convention, meeting, event, and exhibitions industry. A resource for excellent standards and practices within the industry, with more than 30 member organizations representing over 103,500 individuals and 19,500 firms and properties, CIC accomplishes this by connecting people, forming strong global partnerships,  promoting excellence through certification and accreditation programs and voluntary standards and best practices, and fostering collaboration on industry issues and actively supporting and promulgating them. CIC’s programs include the Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) program, the Accepted Practices Exchange (APEX) initiative, the Meetings Industry Advocacy Hub, the Hall of Leaders Program, and numerous industry resource projects.